Just another WordPress.com site

Oscar Season

It’s that time of year again! And no I’m not talking about the holidays. I’m talking about the start of the Oscar race!

 Now some of you are probably thinking it’s only November.  Why would anyone being thinking about the Academy Awards when the ceremony isn’t until February 26th?  Well, just like Christmas, I get a little overly excited and I jump the gun on trying to predict who will be nominated and then win.  Starting in about mid-December, it will be a little clearer on who and what film will have leads over others but right now the field is wide open!

With most, if not all, the major film festivals done for the year, the standout movies are already known even if they haven’t already been seen by the masses.  To be honest, it makes my life a whole heck of a lot easier now that I already know which movies that even have a remote possibility of a nomination.  There still might be a lot of films to be seen but think of all the movies viewed at the festivals throughout the year.  Having them already narrowed down is a huge life (and time) saver!

Last year, I decided that I was tired of watching the Academy Awards and not know anything about the movies that were nominated.  I couldn’t have my own opinion on anything!  It was pretty frustrating.  So I made a goal that I would watch every movie that was nominated for Best Picture and any other film I could fit that had an actor/actress nominated for an award.  By the time the ceremony aired, I definitely reached my goal.  I successfully saw all the Best Picture nominees and all the films that had nominated performances!  For the first time, I was completely prepared to watch the Academy Awards!  (And in case you need updating on last years awards, catch up here!)  Again, this year, I have the same goal.  Since I didn’t make the decision to do this as late as last year, I feel like I can take my time watching all these (hopefully amazing) movies.

I’ve slowly gotten started watching but between school and the simple fact that most of the movies are not available to the public yet have made it a little harder to watch as much as I’d like.  But I have compiled a list of the movies that I want/need to see to be prepared for the Oscars this year.  Now these are not all the movies I want to see.  These are just movies (as of right now) that are front runners for a nomination.

  1. The Artist
  2. The Descendants
  3. War Horse
  4. Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close
  5. The Help
  6. Hugo
  7. The Ides of March
  8. Midnight in Paris
  9. Moneyball
  10. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
  11. J. Edgar
  12. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy
  13. The Tree of Life
  14. Young Adult
  15. Shame
  16. We Bought A Zoo
  17. Albert Nobbs
  18. The Iron Lady
  19. Melancholia
  20. We Need to Talk About Kevin
  21. My Week With Marilyn
  22. Martha Marcy May Marlene
  23. Carnage
  24. Like Crazy
  25. A Dangerous Method

Okay.  That definitely seems like a lot of movies.  And honestly, it is.  However, in the next coming months, some of these will probably drop out as front runners and the categories will narrow.  If you are thinking about trying to watch these but don’t want to waste your time on some movies that have a good chance of not getting a nomination, I’d suggest looking at the first 6 or 7 movies in the list above and then go from there.  Hopefully, I’ll get my reviews of these movies on here quickly after I watch them.  Let me know if you watch any and your opinion on them! I’d love to hear from you!

Comments on: "Oscar Season" (1)

  1. Grandma S. said:

    Saw the advertisements for War Horse and it looks like a movie I would enjoy. I’ll be anxious for your review 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

